Solutions

The challenges in securing a green future are massive: PAPSTAR is pioneering in the example it sets and accompanies the complete life cycle of its products in order to give them a new life after they have been used.

NATURALLY SUSTAINABLE!

The PAPSTAR product range is made up of over 5000 consumables from around 200 productions in the categories disposable tableware, service packaging, table settings and household & hygiene. Besides the systematic and consequent use of renewable raw materials, the company is also devoting itself more and more to sustainable solutions in terms of cyclical material flow management. Sophisticated logistics and service concepts ensure permanent delivery capability - every day and right across Europe!

Naturally sustainable! - the new four-part corporate film from PAPSTAR (About PAPSTAR, Solutions - 1:20 minutes, Product Range, Logistics and Service)

Circular Solutions

Renewable raw materials

With our "pure" product line, we have made the selection and supply of products based on ecological criteria and made from sustainable materials the key element of the enhancement of our range for more than a decade. PAPSTAR is also making significant steps forward to be able to live up to its self-imposed aspiration to implement sustainable recycling solutions for its products in cooperation with its customers.

THE CRADLE-TO-CRADLE PRINCIPLE AS A CONVICTION

Precisely because PAPSTAR is convinced of a "system solutions" approach, PAPSTAR Solutions GmbH was founded as a spin-off in April 2019. Not only has the new company taken over the distribution and technical maintenance of Oklin composting machines, it also offers consulting services ranging from the supply of sustainable products to optimal disposal solutions.

Some Pilot projects in recycling

Following several pilot projects directed at composting and recycling (original street food festivals by NEW FOOD LOVE, Cologne), PAPSTAR has, with scientific support, succeeded in designing a recycling loop for its products and ensuring that the sustainable disposable tableware used at events can be recycled.

Recyclable material into secondary raw material

Plates, cups or cutlery made from renewable raw materials, such as paperboard, cardboard, wood, sugar cane, palm leaves or agricultural residues ("pure" product line) are shredded in a bio converter and then hygienised. The high cellulose content means that the material output can be used at a nearby cardboard factory to produce new products.

System solution for wide-ranging customer groups

This makes PAPSTAR Solutions GmbH capable of offering customers like companies from the gastronomy, catering, hotel or canteen segments - but also those in the area of large-scale events - a hygienic and also sustainable system solution from one single source. Further cycle-focussed material flow management solutions are currently in the state of development.

"Rhineland Genial" Innovation Award

"PAPSTAR GmbH has been recognised as a leading provider of category management solutions for disposable tableware, service packaging, decoration and hygiene articles for product and process innovations. With PAPSTAR Solutions GmbH, the company is now operating in a new business field ranging from sustainable products to optimal disposal solutions that is unique in Germany in this constellation. Rhineland lives from stars like PAPSTAR. "

Official jury verdict on presentation of the "Rheinland Genial" Innovation Award by Metropolregion Rheinland e.V. to managing director Ulla Thönnissen

Exclusive distribution rights for Oklin-composting-machines

Composting machines (Bio converters) from Oklin - the exclusive distribution rights for Germany and Benelux are held by PAPSTAR Solutions GmbH (Germany) and Conpax B.V. (Oosterhout/Nijmegen) respectively, a PAPSTAR Group company - use microbiological technologies in a composting chamber to compost organic waste and even biodegradable disposable tableware and reduce the volume by up to 90 percent in 24 hours.

Material recycling of sustainable disposable tableware

The challenges in securing a green future are massive: PAPSTAR is pioneering in the example it sets and accompanies the complete life cycle of its products in order to give them a new life after they have been used. With the Zero-Waste-Cycle-System the PAPSTAR Solutions GmbH offers customers from the gastronomy, catering, hotel and canteen segments - but also those in the field of large-scale events - a hygienic and also sustainable system solution from one single source.

The online magazine from PAPSTAR features a wide variety of best practice examples in the topical area of "Solutions"...

Recycling system for natural cups made from corn starch

PLA (polylactide) is a material made from renewable, raw vegetable materials (corn starch) that is completely biodegradable; in terms of appearance, the cups are hardly distinguishable from conventional plastic cups, if at all. The recycling system provided by PAPSTAR Solutions GmbH for these cups is increasingly in demand, not least for reasons of hygiene. The bottom line is that recovered PLA granulate can be used to produce new cups and other bio-based plastics.

Paper cup without coating can be disposed of with waste paper

The "paper cup" from PAPSTAR is made of FSC®-certified (Forest Stewardship Council) virgin fiber cardboard without any coating and is therefore ideal for paper recycling. The only condition is that the used cups are "residue-empty" (drip-free). Paper fibers can be recycled ten to 25 times. Recycled paper is mainly used to produce magazines and newspapers, exercise books, printer paper or packaging paper such as cardboard boxes.

Solutions CONTACT PERSONS

Frank Kolvenbach and Christian Feuser, PAPSTAR Solutions GmbH

Solutions

Die Herausforderungen für eine grüne Zukunft sind umfangreich: PAPSTAR geht mit gutem Beispiel voran und begleitet den kompletten "Life Cycle" seiner Produkte, um ihnen nach dem Gebrauch zu einem zweiten Leben zu verhelfen.

NATÜRLICH NACHHALTIG!

Das PAPSTAR-Sortiment umfasst über 5000 aus rund 200 Produktionen zusammengeführte Verbrauchsartikel der Kategorien Einmalgeschirr und Serviceverpackungen, Gedeckter Tisch sowie Haushalt & Hygiene. Neben dem konsequenten Einsatz nachwachsender Rohstoffe widmet sich das Unternehmen verstärkt auch nachhaltigen Lösungen im Sinne eines kreislauforientierten Stoffstrommanagements. Ausgefeilte Logistik- und Servicekonzepte stellen die permanente Lieferfähigkeit sicher - tagtäglich und flächendeckend in ganz Europa!

Natürlich nachhaltig! - der neue vierteilige Imagefilm von PAPSTAR (Über uns, Solutions - 1:20 Minuten, Sortiment, Logistik und Service)

Kreislauflösungen

Nachwachsende Rohstoffe

Mit der Produktlinie "pure" sind die Auswahl und die Bereitstellung von Produkten gemäß ökologischer Kriterien und aus nachhaltigen Materialien bereits seit über einem Jahrzehnt das zentrale Element der Sortimentsentwicklung. PAPSTAR geht weiter voran, um dem selbstauferlegten Anspruch, gemeinsam mit den Kunden nachhaltige Kreislauflösungen für die Produkte zu implementieren, gerecht werden zu können.

VOM CRADLE-TO-CRADLE-PRINZIP ÜBERZEUGT

Da PAPSTAR vom Ansatz der "Systemlösungen" überzeugt ist, wurde im April 2019 als Spin-off die PAPSTAR Solutions GmbH gegründet. Diese hat nicht nur den Vertrieb (inklusive Technologie) von Kompostiermaschinen übernommen, sondern bietet auch Beratungsleistungen von der Warenversorgung mit nachhaltigen Produkten bis hin zu optimalen Lösungen bei der Entsorgung an.

Pilotprojekte zur stofflichen Verwertung

Nach mehreren Pilotprojekten in Richtung Kompostierung und Recycling (Original Street Food Festivals) ist es PAPSTAR unter wissenschaftlicher Begleitung gelungen, einen Wertstoffkreislauf für seine Produkte zu entwerfen und sicherzustellen, dass auf Events und Veranstaltungen eingesetztes nachhaltiges Einmalgeschirr stofflich erneut verwertet werden kann.

Wertstoffkreislauf zum Sekundärrohstoff

Teller, Becher oder Bestecke aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen wie Karton, Pappe, Holz, Zuckerrohr, Palmblatt oder Agrarresten (Sortimentslinie "pure") werden in einer Kompostiermaschine zerkleinert und anschließend hygienisiert. Aufgrund des hohen Cellulose-Anteils lässt sich das Output-Material bei einer nahegelegenen Pappenfabrik zur Produktion neuer Produkte einsetzen.

Systemlösung für viele Kundengruppen

Kunden wie Gastronomie- oder Cateringbetrieben, Hotels oder Kantinen - aber auch aus dem Bereich Großveranstaltungen und Events - bietet die PAPSTAR Solutions GmbH somit eine sowohl hygienische als auch nachhaltige Systemlösung aus einer Hand an. Weitere kreislauforientierte Stoffstrommanagement-Lösungen befinden sich im Entwicklungs-Status.

Innovations-Award "Rheinland Genial"

"Die PAPSTAR GmbH wird als führender Anbieter von Category-Management-Lösungen im Bereich Einmalgeschirr, Serviceverpackung, Dekoration sowie Hygieneartikel für Produkt- und Prozessinnovationen ausgezeichnet. Von nachhaltigen Produkten bis hin zu optimalen Entsorgungslösungen betreibt das Unternehmen mit der PAPSTAR Solutions GmbH ein neues Geschäftsfeld, das in dieser Konstellation einmalig in Deutschland ist. Das Rheinland lebt von solchen Sternen wie PAPSTAR."

Offizielle Juryurteil zur Verleihung des Innovations-Awards "Rheinland Genial" durch den Metropolregion Rheinland e.V. um Geschäftsführerin Ulla Thönnissen

Kompostiermaschinen der Marke Oklin

Kompostiermaschinen (Bio-Konverter) der Marke Oklin  - die exklusiven Vetriebsrechte für Deutschland und die Benelux-Union liegen bei der PAPSTAR Solutions GmbH beziehungsweise der Conpax B.V. (Oosterhout/Nijmegen), einem Unternehmen der PAPSTAR-Gruppe - verwenden mikrobiologische Technologien in einer Kompostierkammer, um organische Abfälle oder auch biologisch abbaubares Einmalgeschirr zu kompostieren und das Volumen innerhalb von 24 Stunden um bis zu 90 Prozent zu reduzieren.

Das Online-Magazin von PAPSTAR mit vielen Best-Practice-Beispielen aus dem Themenfeld "Solutions" ...

Recyclingkreislauf für Bio-Becher aus PLA

PLA (Polylactid) ist ein Werkstoff, der aus nachwachsenden, pflanzlichen Rohstoffen (Maisstärke) hergestellt wird und vollständig biologisch abbaubar ist; in ihrer Optik sind die Becher kaum bis gar nicht von einem herkömmlichen Kunststoffbecher zu unterscheiden. Das über die PAPSTAR Solutions GmbH bereitgestellte Recyclingkreislaufsystem rund um diese Becher wird nicht zuletzt aus Hygienegründen immer stärker nachgefragt. Im Endeffekt lässt sich wiedergewonnenes PLA-Granulat zur Herstellung neuer Becher oder anderer biobasierter Kunststoffe verwenden.

ANSPRECHPARTNER Solutions

Frank Kolvenbach und Christian Feuser, PAPSTAR Solutions GmbH